hostlabs.blogg.se

Locating the mac address on an ipad
Locating the mac address on an ipad






  1. #Locating the mac address on an ipad tv
  2. #Locating the mac address on an ipad download

In the case of my network we have Layer 7 rules for streaming content. There are many legitimate reasons for using MAC addresses and Apple should realise that manyusers MUST know MAC addresses to connect to WiFi. That linked article sort of has a point but not really. I'll try again when my airport extreme arrives. I made sure that all are setup using the same apple credential and connected to the same network.

#Locating the mac address on an ipad tv

Of course, I had to reset it and set it up again to connect it to that network.Īs of now, I am able to play music from my iPhone to the homepod but not from the apple tv or mac to the homepod. Copy/pasting the MAC address from there to the web form of the internet service provider enabled the homepod access to the network. It is indeed named like selected during the setup, e.g., "Living Room". Then, I was able to setup the homepod using my iOS device and see it as described by another user above using the Debookee network tool scanning the wifi. Really weird, I know, but I couldn't come up with another solution using the devices at hand. I was finally able to connect and setup the homepod by connecting my iPhone via USB to my mac and sharing the internet of the iPhone via USB and opening a internet sharing on my mac via WLAN and then connecting to that WLAN using my iPhone. In my case I am not able to access the router settings as it is managed by a company. Reset HomePod by unplugging it, replug, and then then press and hold touchscreen on top of HomePod until it turns red and you hear three beeps Add MAC address to your account/contact admin to add MAC address to the intended wifi networkĨ. Turn off hotspot and reconnect your devices to the intended wifi networkħ. Remove HomePod from the Home app by pressing "Remove Accessory" within the HomePod screen in Home appĦ. Run scan on Network Scanner, it should labeled "Living Room" or whatever location you assigned the HomePod, MAC address should be listed and write it downĦ.

locating the mac address on an ipad

Plug in HomePod and complete setup with HomePod with your iPhoneĥ. Connect MacBook and your iPhone to the hotspotĤ. Make wifi hotspot with someone else's phone (used my gf's iPhone)ģ.

#Locating the mac address on an ipad download

Download Network Scanner onto MacBook from the App Store (it's free)Ģ. Alternatively, you could setup a Genius Bar appointment and have them setup your HomePod on their wifi network with your phone and they can find your MAC address by running a scan on their client list (this is what the Apple Support technician recommended before I got impatient and solved it myself).ġ. I know you already solved it but in case anyone else is running into the same issue, this is what worked for me (similar to what other people tried).








Locating the mac address on an ipad